Skip to content

eLearning Standards: Quality Assurance for Internet Courses

"I learned how to substantiate the learning objectives into each activity in detail (e.g., assignment, group discussion) and a particular technology (e.g., analytical software), in order to help students to reach the expected goals. ...By doing so, I believe students will not 'do the assignments for the assignments'. Instead, they will practice with a clear learning goal."

A photo of Dr. Bo Han

Dr. Bo Han
Assistant Professor of Business Analytics

Quality Matters logo

Texas A&M University-Commerce is engaged in a continual quest for opportunities to enrich the quality of our curriculum, enhance the experience for our students and faculty, and promote learning in a multi-dimensional academic environment.  A&M-Commerce has adopted the Quality Matters Rubric as the quality assurance standard for fully online, blended, and competency-based courses. 

The Quality Matters Program is a nationally recognized, faculty-centered, peer review process designed to certify the quality of online courses and online components. Colleges and universities across the U.S. use Quality Matters as a measurement tool in developing, maintaining and reviewing online courses and in training their faculty.

Courses are developed and evaluated using the QM rubric consisting of eight standards: 1) Course Overview and Introduction, 2) Learning Objectives, 3) Assessment and Measurement, 4) Instructional Materials, 5) Learner Interaction and Engagement, 6) Course Technology, 7) Learner Support, and 8) Accessibility. Each stage of course design/development is mapped to an associated Quality Matters rubric standard. The aligned standards work together to ensure that students achieve the desired learning outcomes.

The instructional designers in the Office of Academic Technology are Quality Matters Certified. They have experience peer reviewing eLearning courses for A&M-Commerce and other Universities. They will be happy to share best practices for meeting each of the QM standards.

Quality Matters