Meeting: Faculty Senate Date: April 1, 2014 Time: 2:00 p.m. Location: BA 290 Adjournment: 3:34 p.m.

Minutes

Members present: Heslop, Lopez, Huber, Choi, Starnes, Arslan, Holt (Graham), Guru-Gharana, Kuracina, Anderson D, Anderson S, Lamarque, Yan, Ballotti, Ou, Kelly, Bertulani, King, Smithers, Pierce (Ball), Openshaw (President), Dang & Hammack (Secretary).

Issue/Topic	Summary of Discussion	Decision/Action
Motion to	Motion to approve March minutes as	Moved by David
Approve	written.	Anderson. Seconded.
Minutes		Motion passed.
Guest Speakers:		
Dr. Lavelle Hendricks, President Texas Council of Faculty Senates	Current agenda items on the Texas Council of Faculty Senates include tenure, guns on campus, women and minorities in higher education administration, eCollege material ownership, and post tenure review.	
Provost Adolfo Benavides	Provost discussed: Organizational responsibilities of the Provost Office.	
	Structural and administrative changes in the College of Science, Engineering, & Agriculture.	
	Metroplex bus service feasibility study.	
	SACS findings from the onsite visit in March.	
	Current negotiations for the UCD contract.	
Andrea Miller & Paul Bryan, Marketing Communications	Pride Online submission process was reviewed. A "freshman start book" has been developed as university marketing recruitment tool.	

Committee Memberships:	Academic Life: New survey concerning family tuition is due by April 11. Budget: Finalizing recommendations with merit pay for the 6th year. Faculty Awards: President Jones approved a Regents' Professor nominee. Organization of the Senate: A motion was made to approve the Faculty Handbook revisions with a LGBT community statement added.	Moved by Gerard Huber. Seconded. Motion passed.
Unfinished Business: Faculty Senate President Linda Openshaw	 Inquiries were made as to the status of : Professional track salary/contracts Summer salary business model Faculty workload policies 	
New Business:	FCTT online eCollege course shell copy request deadline was reviewed. Reminder to departments to include their new senator at the May meeting. Election of Officers: President Elect: Sean Anderson was elected by acclamation.	Moved by Balloti. Seconded. Motion passed