

Faculty Senate Officers, Standing Committee Chairs, and Representatives Academic Year 2024-2025

President: Yasemin Atinc

Secretary: Kelly Featherston

Webmaster: Jason Lee Davis

Academic Life and Practices Committee - Chair: Zachary Palmer

The Committee studies matters relating to the well-being of the faculty, including tenure, promotion, compensation and raises, fringe benefits, and interdepartmental/intercollegiate relationships. The Committee also evaluates matters relating to academic practice, instruction, testing and grading, faculty and administrative performance, research and grants, graduation requirements and recognition of students for scholastic performance.

Admission and Retention of Students Committee - Chair: Stephen Starnes

Committee reviews proposals relating to the recruitment, admission, retention, and dismissal of students.

Budget Committee - Chair: Carrie Klypchack

The Committee monitors the implementation and participates in the evaluation of the current year's university budget and will inform the faculty on budgetary matters. It will survey the faculty through questionnaires, open hearings, and/or other means to learn the faculty's goals and priorities for the coming year(s) and will use the information gathered in this process to develop recommendations for university priorities consistent with those goals. Its recommendations will be forwarded to the university chief budget officer for use in developing university goals.

Curriculum Committee - Chair: Tami Morton

The Committee evaluates course offerings and general requirements for graduation, recommending additions, deletions, and modifications were deemed appropriate.

Faculty Awards - Chair: Hongmei Jia

The Committee develops guidelines, establishes and implements the selection process, and provides for recognition of recipients referred to the committee.

Organization of the Senate - Chair: William Kuracina

The Committee considers proposals relating to changes in the Constitution, Bylaws, or Rules of the Senate, or proposals for measures which will improve the operations and procedures of the Senate.

The **Executive Committee** is composed of the Senate President, President-elect, Secretary, Treasurer, Webmaster, and Committee Chairs.

Faculty Senate Representatives:

University Core Curriculum Committee: Brandon Randolph-Seng

University Compliance Committee: Brandon Randolph-Seng

Honors Council: Zachary Palmer